Directions to the Writing Zone

This morning as I was reading other blogger’s posts, I came across one I felt inclined to respond to, but not in a comment kind of way, in a “blog about it because this would be a pretty long comment” kind of way. I like the blogger, Sarah. She has the same theme as my blog, just in a different color, and she has a Helen Keller quote there as well. It’s possible I’m related to Helen Keller so she’s a topic of interest. Sarah, as I understood is a busy mother, a lot of writers are, just trying to find time in the day to write, as many of us do. Very relate able.

http://sudryandspecific.wordpress.com/2013/01/26/writing-in-the-midst-of-life/

I wanted to add my own advice on getting in the zone. I stay pretty busy with schoolwork so finding time to write can be difficult and there are days when I barely have time to sleep, much less write. However, when there is time, there is a certain mood that makes the words flow better. Often, when I’m really angry or sad, I write. Being that emotional gives my writing character and honestly makes me feel less burdened by the emotion.

I like to be really busy and then just stop and write. After going out with friends or something of the sort, when my minds still racing with thoughts and occasionally adrenaline. Instead of relaxing and just sitting or laying somewhere I take the thrill of a good time and I transfer it into lead or ink.

When I can’t get the feel of what I’m writing, as if I was trying to remember something from a long time ago, but the memories hazy, I draw it. I draw the scene. I try to feel the emotion. I hear the dialogue. It sounds crazy, but imagining and putting the idea on paper as an image really help.

If I ever have an idea, a little thought that sounds good, that has potential and I can’t write it down at that moment, I think about it. I add onto it. I think about characters, other lines, events. When I finally get that pencil in hand those ideas just explode out of me and pour onto the paper. The majority of the time, I do have the opportunity to write the idea down, and I do. All of my school notes have words that don’t belong there.

I wish I could continue, but schoolwork is piled up on my desk and the day needs to officially begin.

3 thoughts on “Directions to the Writing Zone

  1. sarahssundry says:

    Wow, I love that this post came out of you reading my post! I’m honored! I love, love, love the idea of being really busy and then just stopping to write! I always think that I need to decompress (and maybe I do) but you’re right that the adrenalin and racing mind can be used! Thanks for the great suggestions!
    ~Sarah

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Being in the zone is the best feeling in the world. Being able to purge your thoughts onto the screen or into the notebook is great and if you want to do it badly enough then you find time. Thanks for sharing the link to the original post as well. Happy writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

