Independent Footsteps

It’s so much more than just wanting to leave, it’s wanting to claim the independence I’ve always exerted in everything I do and putting it to use. I hate having to deal with them and their consistencies. I hate the look on their face when I’ve succeeded in myself, but failed by their standards. I am my own person, in my own mind, with my own value, a value they have yet to, and may never, understand. I can be my own hero just as I am my own support. I can succeed by the standards I grant myself, but only if I set those standards. I shall not reach unattainable heights, unless they are simply unattainable for you. Your limits do not apply to me, as mine do not apply to you. We are our own people with our own paths and I’m tired of walking on theirs. I want to walk a new journey, a new trail they have not paved for me, and as it is now, I walk beside their trail among the weeds just so I will not have to follow, just so I can have my predefined independence for when I have the chance to turn off into uncharted territory and make my own way with my own path.

Leave a Reply

